Research interests

Natural Language Processing

My main research interests concern Natural Language Processing (NLP) and its applications to document management.

Symbolic approach

Within NLP I am interested in symbolic models of language processing , i.e. applications which rely on linguistic descriptions (such as grammars). In the past, I have worked on parsers, grammar checkers and machine translation.

Digital libraries

Digital libraries use various computer technologies to organise a collection of digital documents for the benefit of its user community. They represent a new form of information dissemination tool where the traditional disciplines of libraries, archives and museums merge. I am particularly interested in applications of NLP technologies to assist retrieval and perusal of digital documents, but also in all aspects of digital libraries.

Data

Research data management, linked data, open data.

Automatic indexing and abstracting

LesApplications of NLP to document management are numerous (I have devoted an article to the subject, focussing on the context of the dissemination of multilingual scientific communication). I am especially interested in automatic indexing (and, specifically, automatic back-of-the-book indexing) and automatic summarization.)

Semiotics of informations systems

Document-based information systems (such as library catalogs, bibliographic databases, etc.) constitute media which are used to transmit information. They are based on highly codified systems of signs. A better comprehension of these sign systems, their functioning and the ways they are used can contribute to the design of information systems which are better adapted to the communication needs of all users.

Page mise à jour le 6 juin 2014

Intérêts de recherche

Linguistique informatique

Mes intérêts de recherche portent principalement sur la linguistique informatique (ou traitement automatique de la langue) et sur ses applications dans la gestion documentaire.

Approche symbolique

En linguistique informatique je m'intéresse particulièrement aux modèles symboliques de traitement de la langue, c'est-à-dire aux applications qui s'appuient sur des descriptions linguistiques (grammaires par exemple). J'ai travaillé dans le passé à des systèmes d'analyse syntaxique automatique, de correction grammaticale et de traduction automatique.

Bibliothèques numériques

Les bibliothèques numériques, constituées de collections de documents numériques organisées pour un repérage aisé par les utilisateurs, empruntent des technologies diverses où se croisent les traditions bibliothéconomiques, archivistiques et muséales. Je m'intéresse plus précisément aux technologies de traitement automatique de la langue qui peuvent être incorporées aux bibliothèques numériques pour y faciliter le repérage et la consultation de documents, mais aussi, en général, à tous les aspects des bibliothèques numériques.

Données

Données de la recherche, données liées, données ouvertes.

Analyse documentaire automatique

Les applications de la linguistique informatique à la gestion documentaire sont très nombreuses (j'ai d'ailleurs consacré un article à ce sujet, spécialement dans le contexte de la diffusion de la communication scientifique multilingue). Je travaille surtout sur l'indexation automatique (notamment l'indexation automatique de monographies) et sur la condensation automatique.

Sémiotique documentaire

Les systèmes d'information documentaire sont des média de transmission d'information, basés sur des systèmes de signes hautement codifiés. Une meilleure compréhension de ces systèmes de signes, de leur fonctionnement et de leur utilisation peut contribuer à la conception de systèmes d'information mieux adaptés aux besoins des divers intervenants.

Page mise à jour le 17 février 2017